NMMU, North campus – New Engineering Building 08:30 – 16:30

CPD Points: 1 (Validation number: FME15.91.2)

A pre-conference event to the 2015 PRASA-RobMech International Conference is being hosted by the uYilo eMobility Technology Innovation Programme (EMTIP).

Given the impacts from the existing transport sector on air quality, noise pollution, climate change and health, the need for shifts towards sustainable mobility modes needs to emphasized with electric mobility (eMobility) and cleaner technologies being at the forefront. Electric mobility is an innovative solution for the transport sector and there is need for innovative solutions for tomorrow’s mobility solutions.

The consortiums of Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University and PRASA-RobMech International Conference have jointly organized an eMobility workshop with local and international speakers in Port Elizabeth on 25th November 2015 at Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, North campus, New Engineering Building.

The objective of the workshop is to encourage awareness, networking among the entities to promote knowledge transfer with emphasis on electric mobility, and facilitate strategies for the acceleration of the electric mobility ecosystem to foster sustainable urban mobility solutions towards smart cities.

The workshop is free for all attendees on first come serve basis as seats are limited.


Session 1

08:30      Welcome – Dr Nico Rust (uYilo eMobility Technology Innovation Programme)

08:35      Analysis of the driving strategies of a plug-in-hybrid vehicle – Prof. Dr. –Ing. R.
Vanhaelst (Ostfalia University of Applied Sciences)

09:05      Light weight design solutions – Prof. Dr. T. Tröster (University of Paderborn)

10:05      Membrane development for Redox-Flow Batteries – Dipl. – Ing. (FH) D. Düerkop
(Ostfalia University of Applied Sciences)

          10:35     Tea break – New Engineering Building Foyer

Session 2

          10:50      Renewable Energy for the real world – Prof. R Phillips (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan

          11:20      12 V Lithium-Ion Starter Batteries – Prof. Dr. HG Schweiger (Technishe Hochschule

11:50      Policy and regulatory framework for EVs, international lessons for South Africa-  
Prof Godwell Nhamo (EXXaro Chair in Business and Climate Change)

          12:20     Lunch break – Conference Centre

Session 3

          13:30      Consumer-oriented mobility – Dipl. – Oec. B. Wagner vom Berg (University of

          14:00      A futuristic perspective – Prof Chris Adendorff (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan

14:30      eMobility landscape for South Africa – Ms Maletlabo Handel (South African National
Energy Development Institute)

          15:00     Tea break – New Engineering Building Foyer

Session 4

          15:20      Connected Mobility – Mr Ntando Kubheka (Co-Founder Locomute)

15:50      Recycling of Electric Vehicles – Prof. Dr. –Ing. Joachim Schmidt (Ostfalia
University of Applied Sciences)

16:20      South Africa’s eMobility Technology Innovation Programme – Mr Hiten Parmar
uYilo EMobility Technology Innovation Programme)

16:50      Vote of thanks & closure – Mr Hiten Parmar

          16:30      Closure

Files to Download: